Brevort Lake

This might be the best camp site yet. I have my own beachfront spot on Brevort Lake in the Hiawatha National Forest just 20 or so miles from the Mackinac Bridge in the UP. As far as I can tell there is only one other family here. I’m sure it was a lot different this weekend.

Got out of Mosquitosota early this morning with minimal welts and drove a little over 450 miles through beautiful remote woodland in Wisconsin and the Upper Peninsula, MI. Saw a regal red fox hunting on the side of the road and another turtle in the middle of the road. The goal has been to stay off the interstates as much as possible and throughout this trip I’ve largely been able to do that. Went through many little slow down towns, where you go from 65 mph down to 25 and then back to 65. Lake Superior still has pretty ice floes. I tried to get a picture but they were too distant for my little iphone lens.

It’s only country music and classic rock on the radio up here. I heard that, “play it again, play it again, play again” song by Luke Bryan about 12,000 times today. I turned it up every time and belted out all words.

Tomorrow it’s over the Mackinac Bridge and down the mitten. I might hang out here in the morning and hike about and explore. The plan is to arrive in Rochester, NY on Wednesday afternoon and have dinner at Cloverwood with Nana and stay the night with Aunt Ann. That’s about 725 miles away so I figure I have time.

Brevort Lake

Leave a Reply

